Your Favorite Sweater
1 min readApr 21, 2022

--

I’m concerned with the number of claps this has. This entire piece is riddled with some very old-school gender tropes that don’t take into consideration the many reasons people date, all because the author heard one podcast with a horny guy. Sure, dating culture is toxic. But reducing it to “men want sex, women want money” is so sexist and oversimplified that it’s laughable. I used to write pieces on this site every time I got my ego bruised by a noncommittal guy. When I started investing in myself and putting myself first (as the author gets around to suggesting) I discovered that dating is so much more nuanced than locking down a marriage.

This right here? Not a “counter-cultural” take on relationships and sex, as the author’s bio would lead us to believe. It’s a tired eye-roll at best. Oh and by the way- glorified prostitution is totally cool if that’s what people are looking for!!

--

--

Your Favorite Sweater

Creative outlet for a young professional in a very non-creative field